Notting Hill Carnival 2013

Last weekend in the UK, we had a bank holiday. Not just any bank holiday though! This one permits you whine up and get on bad (as us Trini’s might say lol)! With food and liquor, great sound systems and parades, beautiful weather and a variety of people participating and celebrating, this year’s carnival was another great success! I haven’t come across anyone who didn’t have a good time, in fact, we’re still trying to come down from the high as we reminisce over the highlights!

The Notting Hill Carnival happens every year, over the final August bank holiday, and has been since 1964. It follows the same tradition as that which began in Trinidad during the 19th century, celebrating the abolition of slavery. Back then a lot of the costumes worn were to mock and make fun of their masters.
Today you can find many different carnivals that happen all over the world. Notting Hill is said to be the largest in Europe. Pretty amazing, right? Considering how small London is (don’t hate on my home town though).

Coming from a predominantly Caribbean background, I was immersed into the culture quite early on as I was growing up. I first played mas in a band when I was around 4/5 years old, formed by an organisation run by my grandmother which aimed to help the community in various ways – what an inspiration she is! I remember helping to make the costumes and some newspaper journalists came down to support us and take a few snaps of our production and costumes. I was a little nervous but really excited at the same time. I still have the newspaper cut out! Some of you might get lucky enough to see it one day!

A carnival I need to be a part of soon is, Caribana in Toronto, Canada. The levels of fun that I’ve seen and heard from people who’ve been just seemed so ridiculous and more extravagant! Like London, Canada is very diverse and multicultural so I’d love to see how they operate during carnival season and the variety of people who come out to participate. I’m a bacchanalist at heart and always ready to touch de road lol. I’m almost desperate to go, so anyone who wants to take me, let me know!

Carnival is a great event because of how it brings so many different people together and I’d highly recommend it because of this. Everyone is welcome, discrimination is left at the door or the bridge rather (my carnival regulars will know what I’m talking about), it’s all about having a good time. The majority of people are friendly and sociable, combined with good vibes and an upbeat, energetic atmosphere, your spirits are sure to be lifted! This is the weekend that you’re encouraged to jam and wuk up on a stranger, and might be the only time it’s deemed acceptable! Haha. I DARE YOU!

My fellow carnival goers and I had a great time and are anticipating more good times and madness from carnival 2014! We can’t wait! Maybe I’ll see you there..!?

One response to “Notting Hill Carnival 2013

  1. Pingback: Our Carnival Tune | oscardunbar·

Leave a comment