Fight or Flight: FEAR

First off, thank you all for subscribing and liking my previous posts, I wasn’t expecting anyone to have much interest in the topics I wanted to talk about but I appreciate you all!

It may be fair to say, starting my own blog was a fear that I had. I would often admire others, and think to myself, “I could do that!” But I then started to question myself, and what other people would think. The same thing applied when it came to promoting myself and putting my work out there. This is something I’ve realised and has boosted my drive to challenge myself as much as possible.
Self promotion for different types of artists can be difficult, not wanting to be seen as arrogant or vain, I’m sure we can all relate. An artists work is often personal and intimate to themselves. Whilst it’s true that not many of us are attracted to big-headed personalities and I’m not suggesting you take that route either, but why not let the world know what it is that you do? What’s the point of having talent if you can’t share it? Talent can affect change and stimulate inspiration and I think you should be a part of that.
Growing up, I was very shy and often described as quiet in a large percentage of school reports. Gradually I’ve been breaking out of this cocoon that sometimes holds me back. I’d say I’m a lot more confident, or at least aware of how to deal with situations that may put me out of my comfort zone. These days I literally engage in conversation with anyone (providing they aren’t crazy with a twitching eye or something worse), I’m more open to showing people my work and approaching opportunities that I once regarded as “scary”.
You see fear is a (insert choice of adjective or noun here) that often leads to procrastination, they are both the enemy and deserve a mean right hook to the jaw! Fear and procrastination will do everything they can to hold you back and lead you into a state of paralysis, blinding your senses not allowing you to explore. To put it more simply, you become lazy. According to my knowledge, lazy people never get anywhere far if anywhere at all. Once you realise this, it’s up to you to take control.

Although it can be hard, facing your fears promotes growth as a person. You feel good afterwards. But if you don’t try at the very least, how do you expect to develop and progress in life? Nobody’s going to hand you success on a plate. Get out their and work for it! Whatever happens, remember it’s all a learning experience. This is why I deeply admire those who don’t have freedom of choice like the majority of us do, perhaps in oppressing situations/countries, but still arise to the challenge to face their fears and make changes. Think of all the legendary people who’ve gone through this to change how the world thinks and the rights available to us. If it wasn’t for them and if you think the world is in a bad state now, what would it be like without their hard work?
Just imagine how amazing it would be if you did all the things you really wanted to do in life? You’d sure have a vast amount of colourful stories for your grandchildren! Don’t wait till you’re on your death-bed saying “I wish I did this or that”. It’s yours to claim now, we only have one life to live so make sure you go out with a bang!
Just as Neo from The Matrix was faced with having the option of taking the blue pill or the red pill, which one will you choose..? Attack fear, or let it get you first.
Live for yourself, not to meet people’s expectations. Do you and be fearlesssss!

Leave a comment